jump to navigation

Celebrating Córdoba November 16, 2008

Posted by Emily in a few of my favorite things, Andalucía, blog, moving, photography, Spain, Travel.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

As was well documented in this blog, Córdoba and I had sort of a love/hate relationship when I lived there. It’s a strange city, one so focused on the past and its pedigree among top historical sites that it sometimes neglects its present. Córdoba has a strong alternative side, though, a counterpart to the ubiquitous pijo-ness that can be witnessed at certain bars, in Plaza Corredera, and by the female, Communist mayor. And its traditional cuisine is famous in Spain, especially salmorejo and flamenquín.

But needless to say, there are things I miss (among those things, salmorejo and flamenquín!). And since the episode of Spain…On the Road Again airing this evening on PBS focuses on Córdoba and nearby wonderful Granada, I thought I’d take a moment to celebrate what Córdoba does have to offer, both for tourists and for those who might leave the Judería and stick around for a while.

I’ll offer up my personal recommendations and favorite spots in the next day or two, but in the meantime, there’s really one reason people flock to Córdoba – the Mezquita. When I lived in Córdoba, I would stop in to the Mezquita, free before 10 am, from time to time. These are some of my shots from those mornings.

Music: “Córdoba (Soleá)” – Vicente Amigo from the album “Ciudad de las Ideas”

As for Granada, check out a few of my many Alhambra photos on Flickr.

Comments»

1. Julie E. - November 16, 2008

Love your video!


Leave a Reply

