jump to navigation

Bye bye, 2008 December 31, 2008

Posted by Emily in fiesta.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I have to admit, I’m not much of a fan of New Year’s Eve. Any event that includes a countdown seems to be anticlimactic, I think. But I’ll go out with some old friends, meet my friend’s fiance (fresh off the plane from England), toast them with some free champagne at midnight, and look forward to a new year.

Which isn’t to say 2008 was a bad one. It was a crazy year in many ways, completely different than years past. Some things didn’t go as planned, sure. But I also have a huge collection of fond memories from the last 12 months. I had a great time, did some traveling, discovered that I really do like teaching and really might want to pursue it as a career here one of these days (just not with the wee ones…I’m too anti-jumper to be an elementary school teacher. plus the whole patience of Job bit…)

I’m looking forward to a new start. I’m trying to be open to whatever might come my way. 2009 is going to be an exciting year, for me, for my friends, for the country.

And it’ll be fun to share all of that here.

Now to think of a resolution…and choose my shoes for the night.

Comments»

1. Katja - January 1, 2009

I’m looking forward to what the year 2009 will bring. I always like new beginnings, so the beginning of the year always feels like it’s filled with much promise, even if I don’t have any big plans in mind. Happy New Year!🙂

2. miamired - January 1, 2009

I know what you mean, Katja. I don’t have any specific plans in mind either, but I am looking forward to the promise of 2009.

Plus, if nothing else, you’ve got a new place to decorate this year! Hooray for you!


Leave a Reply

