jump to navigation

Delayed April 19, 2009

Posted by Emily in a few of my favorite things, moving.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I started a mix CD for a friend for Valentine’s Day. I wanted it to be upbeat, very loosely love-based but not too theme-y, something that makes me smile and that I thought, in turn, might make her smile.

Some of the songs are beautiful. Others are cheesy and even a bit embarrassing to like. Some of the songs (like “Love Song”) plenty of people are sick of hearing relentlessly–but I was busy enjoying Julieta Venegas’ “Canciones de Amor” (“Love Songs”) when Sara Bareilles became popular…so they’re new(ish) to me and will be new to my friend. Others (like “Jessie’s Girl” and “Kiss” and “High Hopes”) seem to find their way onto about half of the mixes and playlists I make.

But then I started a new job and then another, moved to four different places in less than a month, couldn’t find any CD-Rs among all of my stuff boxes, had my computer threaten extinction,  and just generally got off track. I totally missed my V-Day deadline. I’ve now been in the same place for a few weeks, bought CDs, coaxed my seven year old computer into a few more months of rocking, and finally got around to making the CD and sending it her way.

I finally decided to try last.fm, so I’ll probably be adding a playlist around here somewhere.

But in the meantime, I thought I’d also share this mix with you all via playlist.com. What the world needs now is love, sweet love, right? Or at least a few songs for spring evenings.

LOVE Mix

Sexual Healing (live) : Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals (not available on playlist.com, see YouTube)
Gillian Was A Horse : Damien Jurado
Everest : Ani DiFranco (not available on playlist.com, all I can find is this live video from Central Park with random people talking in the background on YouTube)
Jessie’s Girl : Rick Springfield
All I Need : Mat Kearney
Anna Begins : Counting Crows
Skinny Love : Bon Iver
Linger : Jonatha Brooke
Slow Dancing In A Burning Room : John Mayer
Love Song : Sara Bareilles
By Your Side : Sade
One Two Three Four : Feist
‘Til Kingdom Come : Coldplay
Why Do You Let Me Stay Here? : She & Him
Strange and Beautiful : Aqualung
The Promise : Tracy Chapman
Kiss : Prince
Tristan & Iseult : Tarkio
High Hopes : Neil Halstead

(just click anywhere in the box to get the playlist rolling)

LOVE Mix, playlist.com

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

