jump to navigation

Back to basics July 3, 2009

Posted by Emily in a few of my favorite things, Andalucía, design, photography.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

With as much time as I spend online, and as much as I love everything from browsing Amazon or the NYTimes online to reading blogs on Google Reader to doing a little html/CSS editing of my own, my heart is still with paper.

I’m working at a stationery shop, and I can tell you that it’s a bit dangerous. I love the texture, the smell, the way ink slides across the page. I find unlined bound journals irresistible, despite having at least ten. Maybe more. Paper cutters bring me great joy. I have to steer clear of the wooden stapler that’s calling my name. I attempt to bring home a paycheck.

And so I am loving my newest project, a scrapbook/journal/record of my year in Spain. It’s a little late, I know, which is one of the concerns. The further in the past one tries to recall, the hazier the memories often become. And I’m a little wary of the “scrapbook” title and its suburban soccer mom connotation. But now is as good a time as any, and I’ve finally found the perfect book, ordered all of the digital photos from Snapfish, gathered up all of the brochures, tickets and random paper schnipsels I’ve saved all along, and so it’s back to basics with paper, scissors, about four kinds of glue/tape and LOTS of pens.

Now I just need to find a space to spread out all of my paper goodness and get down to getting it all together. Wish me luck!

Comments»

1. Charisma - July 4, 2009

That’s a really cool idea! All my random tickets and brochures have been stuffed higgledy-piggledy in a plastic bag…in the depths of the closet.

2. Julie E. - July 5, 2009

Awesome! I’ve got a good two drawers’ worth of ticket stubs, brochures, etc., myself, and the greatest treasure would be the moleskines I filled while backpacking. I’d love to get around to scrapbooking it some day or writing a book, whichever comes first. Yeah right. Have fun and good luck!

3. miamired - July 12, 2009

Thanks for the encouraging comments, ladies.

Hey Julie – have you looked into Blurb.com? I went to a free photo workshop in town where they handed out free book coupons from Blurb – but the books had to be submitted within two weeks. So I put my blog posts from Spain (including comments) into book form, along with a bit of editing and more photos. I was impressed with how well it turned out, how quickly it arrived, and even if I had paid more than shipping, I think it would have run $30 or so for a softcover. I keep meaning to post photos of the result…

In other news, I relented and bought the wooden stapler. And it’s awesome.


Leave a Reply

