jump to navigation

Palette love July 6, 2009

Posted by Emily in a few of my favorite things, Blogs I read and like, design, moving.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

It has recently come to my attention that I am obsessed with palettes.

Strange, I know – especially coming from a person whose paintings are often taken for early grade school projects. Really embarrassingly bad.

But a nice palette makes me giddy. I only just recently pulled together lots of my favorite things to make that connection.

Exhibit A:

The mother of all palettes: Pantone. When feeling stressed in high school journalism, I used to crawl into a corner and flip through the Pantone chart. I still find spreading the fan of colors incredibly high-inducing. I’d like to have one, just to look at it when I’m on the phone or while I’m waiting for the water to boil, but unfortunately, they cost a couple hundred dollars. (yes, for a bunch of pieces of paper with colors on them – but it’s Pantone!) To tide me over, I am still contemplating adding a couple of mugs to my collection, but one or two just can’t compare to the full chic rainbow.

pantonemugs1.preview

photo from yumsugar.com

To continue the color choosing fun, Kuler. It’s a little-known Adobe online application that is invaluable for choosing colors – whether for a website, a wedding, or just trying to decide on something fun to wear for the day. I also love the palettes people can save and share. With titles like “Christmas in Italy” “Venezuelan Beach” or even “Chocolate Mint Coffee” – I find them incredibly transporting. You can also get colors based on an uploaded photo. This has saved my life during more than one boring period at more than one boring job.

untitled_kuler

As part of my move, I’ve been spending more time than usual perusing paint palettes at Lowe’s and Home Depot. One dresser I painted a classic Decorator’s White, but the nightstand will gets its last coat today of – Tucson Teal (the darkest shade)! So fun!

untitled

I recently came across this blog, Creative Holly Color, where she posts palettes based on people or events, personal or famous.

I am convinced that I was an artist in some past life, as my favorite shopping might possibly be art supply stores, where there’s very little my art-incapable self can actually use.

green palette, scrapbooking

scrapbook store, Great Falls, MT

So many colors, so many shades!

Comments»

1. Mego - July 12, 2009

Between this post and the one about how much you love paper, there shall never be any doubt that we are related. You warm my heart with your words of color and printing.

2. Lindsey Carey - July 23, 2009

Have you ever shopped on Etsy? I love it..there is a section where you can shop by color. It has colorful dots arranged much like the paper above. You slide your mouse across all the colors and click…

I adore it.


Leave a Reply

