jump to navigation

Yep, he’s a sex bomb February 26, 2010

Posted by Emily in a few of my favorite things.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

This may seem strange, but sometimes I wonder about my sense of humor. I’m not an extremely serious person, but it’s rare that I laugh out loud. I’m more of a smirker, and sometimes I’m envious of those with easy, genuine laughs. Most movies people think are funny – Judd Apatow and Adam Sandler and Will Ferrell – I think are sort of just OK. Occasionally a British movie comes out that just gets me, but it’s rare. It’s been a while.

I do love some good absurdity, though. Which is why I so enjoyed Russia’s winning performance on 2008’s Eurovision, complete with figure skater Yevgeni Plushenko spinning around on a rink the size of my kitchen table (Please see the 2:00 mark, on YouTube. You won’t regret it.). Watching the Olympics last week, I was reminded of my dear Russian friend when we caught a feature about him – he was driving around Moscow, scowling, saying that he has fast cars and a gold medal (also lots of enemies, which he made sound like the Mafia, but that’s another story….) and so why would he compete again? But then he said he was getting bored, so he decided to go back for gold. He’s a total ice skating badass. Clearly. By now, we all know that Evan Lysacek and his Master of the Darkness feathered outfits took the gold…but don’t fret: Plushenko will always have this gem.

Now THIS made me laugh out loud.

(thanks, A.M., for totally making my week)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

